09/11/2017 - 15:45

Find out the list of Peace and Sport Awards nominees

Created in 2008, the annual Peace and Sport Awards reward organizations and individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to peace, dialogue and social stability in the world through sport.

From specific field programs to global initiatives, the winners have led projects that are symbolic of sport’s capacity to reconcile divided or opposed communities. They are an inspiration to other stakeholders for what sport can achieve on the global stage.

This year the ceremony of Peace and Sport Awards will be held in Monaco Thursday 7th of December, as part of the evening of Peace and Sport International Forum Gala.

On this occasion eleven awards will be granted to exceptional initiatives promoting peace through sport! Champions for Peace and the Jury will respectively be in charge of selecting the winners of the “In memory of Guo Chan: coup de Coeur by Champions for Peace” and “Special Jury Prize” Awards.

You can find here below the list of the confirmed nominees for the Awards Ceremony:


Federation of the Year

WAKO Kickboxing

International Volleyball Federation (FIVB)

Badminton World Federation (BWF)


NGO of the Year

World YMCA

In Safe Hands

Horn of Africa


Diplomatic Action of the Year

Tavak Partners

Björn Borg Brand

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Colombia


Sport Simple Program of the Year

Welcome to Yorkshire, Yorkshire Bank Bike Libraries

Onda Solidaria

World Baseball Softball Confederation


April6 Initiative of the Year

1st World Taekwondo Beach Championships 2017

St Lawrence High School, Kolkata & St Lawrence Old Boys Association

Brussels Play 4 Peace


Foundation of the Year

FC Barcelona Foundation

The Deutsche Fussball Liga Foundation

La Fondation Paris Saint Germain


Event of the Year

The PyeongChang Organizing Committee of the 2018 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games

AIBA (International Boxing Association)

Ojo x Ojo


Champion of the Year

Juan Mata

Ladji Doucoure

Khalida Popal


CSR Initiative of the Year

GIZ (Gesellschaft fuer Internationale Zusammenarbeit)

The Skateroom


Special Jury Prize

AS Monaco et du Borussia Dortmund supporters

UNFP – Union Nationale des Footballeurs Professionnels

Eleven Campaign


10th Peace and Sport International Forum will reveal the winners, to attend the Awards Ceremony register here.

Share this news